Pumla Dineo Gqola, keynote speaker Thuli Madonsela and Nkosinathi Sithole

Pumla Dineo Gqola, Nkosinathi Sithole win Sunday Times Literary Awards 2016

Pumla Dineo Gqola and Nkosinathi Sithole are the winners of the Sunday Times Literary Awards 2015 in a ceremony in Sandton, Johannesburg South Africa on 25th June 2016. They each go home with R100,000.

Gqola a professor of African Literature at Wits University won the nonfiction category known as the Alan Paton Award for her book Rape: A South African Nightmare which was published by MF Books. The book investigates the history and causes of the epidemic of sexual violence in South Africa. The Alan Paton Award judging panel was chaired by Achmat Dangor, supported by judges Tinyiko Maluleke and Pippa Green.

Sithole who has a PhD in English Studies and teaches at the University of Zululand won the fiction category known as the Barry Rouge Prize for his book Hunger Eats a Man, published by Penguin Books. The story is set in KwaZulu-Natal and highlights the plight of rural South Africans. It was judged this year by Rustum Kozain (chair), Angela Makholwa-Moabelo and Stephen Johnson.
Congratulations to both writers from us here at JamesMurua.com

Bookslive.co.za is the space to read about all the action that happened and the after reaction. For instance here Gqola says that folks asked if she was insane when she did this project while you can read Sithole’s acceptance speech here.


3 responses to “Pumla Dineo Gqola, Nkosinathi Sithole win Sunday Times Literary Awards 2016”

  1. […] Vollenhoven (chair), Edwin Cameron and Paddi Clay. They include favourites like Pumla Dineo Gqola, who won in 2015, Sizwe Mpofu-Walsh who starred at the Time of the Writer recently, and Sisonke Msimang who also […]

  2. […] Ngqulunga and Harry Kalmer (2018), Zakes Mda and Greg Marinovich (2017), Pumla Dineo Gqola and Nkosinathi Sithole (2016), Jacob Dlamini and Damon Galgut (2015) and a host of […]

  3. […] Kurgan (2019), Bongani Ngqulunga and Harry Kalmer (2018), Zakes Mda and Greg Marinovich (2017), Pumla Dineo Gqola and Nkosinathi Sithole (2016), Jacob Dlamini and Damon Galgut (2015) and a host of others in recent times. Tshidiso […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.