Panashe Chigumadzi

South African Literary Awards 2016 winners announced

The winners of the 2016 South African Literary Awards 2016 also known as the SALAs were announced in Johannesburg, South Africa on 7th November 2016.

The South African Literary Awards which are celebrating 11 years as an organisation announced those in the running for what is considered to be the most prestigious award ceremony going. The awards were founded by the wRite associates, in partnership with the national Department of Arts and Culture (DAC) in 2005 to pay tribute to South African writers who have distinguished themselves as producers and creators of literature. It would go on to celebrate literary excellence in the depiction and sharing of South Africa’s histories, value systems and philosophies and art as inscribed and preserved in all the languages of South Africa, particularly the official languages. Previous SALA winners include Nadine Gordimer, Lewis Nkosi, Sindiwe Magona, Njabulo Ndebele, Karabo Kgoleng, Zakes Mda, Sifiso Mzobe and Zukiswa Wanner.

The full list of winners in the various categories were;

Posthumous Literary Award

  • TT Cloete
  • Chris van Wyk

Poetry Award

  • Gilbert Gibson – Vry
  • Arja Salafranca – Beyond Touch

Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award 2016

  • Sandra Hill – Unsettled and Other Stories

Literary Translators Award

  • Leon de Kock & Karin Schimke – Flame in the Snow: The Love Letters of Andre Brink & Ingrid Jonker

Lifetime Achievement Literary Award

  • Ingrid Winterbach
  • Johan Lenake

K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award 2016

  • Willem Anker – Buys
  • Panashe Chigumadzi – Sweet Medicine

First-time Published Author Award

  • Francois Smith – Kamphoer

Chairperson’s Award 2016

  • Gcina Mhlophe


2 responses to “South African Literary Awards 2016 winners announced”

  1. […] in the harsh world of mid-noughties Harare, Zimbabwe. The novel, that we really rated, went on to win the K Sello Duiker Prize in 2016. She followed up the novel with the nonfiction book These Bones Will Rise Again with United […]

  2. […] The cover for the first of these titles promised has emerged as Panashe Chigumadzi’s publication These Bones Will Rise Again. We all remember Chigumadzi, who was born in Zimbabwe and grew up in South Africa, for her first novel Sweet Medicine. That novel about Tsitsi who has to survive in the harsh world of mid noughties Harare Zimbabwe that we really rated would go on to win the K Sello Duiker Prize. […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.