Abdellatif Laâbi

Abdellatif Laabi awarded Mahmoud Darwish Award 2020.

Abdellatif Laabi was awarded the Mahmoud Darwish Award 2020 on March 13, 2020.

Mahmoud Darwish was a Palestinian poet and author who was regarded as the Palestinian national poet. The beloved poet, who won numerous awards for his work, died in 2008. In the same year, Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas issued a decree establishing the Mahmoud Darwish Foundation as well as the Mahmoud Darwish award. The Palestinian government eventually decided to make March 13, Mahmoud Darwish’s birthday, the official day of Palestinian culture.

The Mahmoud Darwish Award for Culture and Creativity was awarded to American thinker Noam Chomsky, Moroccan poet, and translator Abdellatif Laabi, as well as poet and Palestinian scholar Zakaria Muhammad. The Executive Council of the Mahmoud Darwish Foundation for Culture also granted the special honour award to the Lebanese poet Shawky Bazia. This announcement was made on Palestine’s National Culture Day.

Making the selections was an award committee consisting of Prof Dr Muhammad Barrada as Chairman, Dr Riyad Kamel, Dr Modtal Othman, Dr Munsif Al-Wahaibi, Dr Ibrahim Abu Hashhash, Elias Farkouh and Dr Adela Al-Aydi.


One response to “Abdellatif Laabi awarded Mahmoud Darwish Award 2020.”

  1. […] Walker received the Mahmoud Darwish Literary Prize for Literature in 2016, according to the prize’s website. Her work exemplifies the principles […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.