African Speculative Society’s Nommo Awards 2020 nominees announced.

African Speculative Society’s Nommo Awards 2020 shortlists announced.

The shortlists for the African Speculative Society’s Nommo Awards 2020 have been announced today, May 15, 2020.

In 2016, the African Speculative Society introduced The Nommo Awards to celebrate writing known in other markets as magical realism, Sci-Fi, horror, and graphic novels. Since they were introduced, winners have been Tade Thompson, Nnedi Okorafor, Tendai Huchu, and Lesley Nneka Arimah in 2017; and Tade Thompson, Kwabena Ofei, Setor Fiadzigbey, Wole Talabi, and Tochi Onyebuchi in 2018. In 2019, the honours went to Akwaeke Emezi, Nerine Dorman, Ekpeki Oghenechovwe Donald, alongside Nnedi Okorafor and Leonardo Romero.

The nominees for the awards in the novel, novella, short story, and graphic novel categories were announced on April 19. The shortlists have been announced today and they are;

Ilube Nommo Award for Best Speculative Novel by an African Short List

  • Masande Ntshanga, Triangulum, (Penguin Random House South Africa)
  • Namwali Serpell, The Old Drift (Penguin Random House/Vintage/Hogarth)
  • Nerine Dorman, Sing Down The Stars (Tafelberg)
  • Suyi Davies Okungbowa, David Mogo, Godhunter (Abaddon)
  • Tade Thompson, Rosewater Insurrection (Orbit)
  • Tochi Onyebuchi, War Girls (Razorbill Penguin Group)

2020 Nommo Award for Best Speculative Novella by an African Short List

  • Caldon Mull, Weatherman (Caldon Mull)
  • Kerstin Hall, The Border Keeper (
  • Wole Talabi, Incompleteness Theories (from single-author anthology Incomplete Solutions, Luna Press)

Nommo Award for Best Speculative Short Story by an African Short List

  • Ada Nnadi, Tiny Bravery (Omenana)
  • Chikodili Emelumadu, Sin Eater (Omenana)
  • Deji Bryce Olukotun, Between The Dark and The Dark, (Lightspeed)
  • Ivana Akotowaa Ofori, Principles of Balance (Jalada)
  • Suyi Davies Okungbowa, The Haunting of 13 Oluwo Street (Fireside)
  • Wole Talabi, When We Dream We Are God (Apex Magazine and All Borders Are Temporary, TrAP Magazine)

Nommo Award for Best Graphic Novel/Comic by Africans

  • Beast From Venus by Kiprop Kimutai (author) and Salim Busuru (artist) (Avandu Vosi)
  • Captain South Africa by Bill Masuku (artist and author) (Enigma Comix)
  • Danfo by Morakinyo Araoye, and Steven Akinyemi (authors) Ogim Ekpezu (artist) (TAG Comics)
  • Hawi by Beserat Debebe (author) and Stanley Obende (artist) (Etan Comics)
  • Kami By Mika Hirwa (author and artist) (Mira Hirwa publisher)
  • Nani By Ziki Nelson (author) Jason Lamy (artist) (Kugali comics)
  • Sanu By Charles Sentongo (author and artist) Elupe Comics
  • Welcome To Dead World by Bill Masuku (author and art) (Sam Graphico Anthology)

Voting for the winners by members of the ASFS will start on 30 May and end 30 August. The winners of the awards have traditionally been announced at the opening ceremony of the Ake Festival.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.