African Writers Awards 2023

African Writers Awards 2023 winners announced.

The winners of the African Writers Awards, African Teen Writers Awards, and the Wakini Kuria Prize for Children’s Literature were announced in Accra, Ghana on Saturday, November 4, 2023.

The African Writers Awards were conceived by the African Writers Development Trust to celebrate the best-emerging writing talents on the continent. Some previous winners have been Manu Herbstein, Maryhilda Ibe, Chiamaka Onu-Okpara, and Benson Mugo in 2018; Eme Ogbu, Temani Nkalolang, Andrea B Matambo, and Priscillar Matara in 2019; Oladejo Oluyemisi, Asoloko Gloria Akayi, and Duru Nneka Joyce in 2020, and Adedoyin Adetutu, Gordon, B. Away, and Makhago Peter in 2021. The winners for 2022 were Britney Muoghalu, Gloria Akayi Asoloko, and Temwani Mgunda.

The awards this year are judged by Chief Judge Anthony Onugba alongside Nahida Esmail (Tanzania), Testimony Odey (Nigeria) Temwani Mgunda (Malawi) Corona Cermak (Tanzania) Patricia Ejang (Uganda) Comfort Nyati, SDB (Zimbabwe) Mildred Enoch (Nigeria) Ona Zozoni (Botswana), Halieo Motanyane (Lesotho) and Namse Peter Udosen (Nigeria).

The longlists announced on Wednesday, September 6 before the shortlists were revealed on Monday, October 2. Those still in the running are;

The African Writers Awards for Poetry 2023 (US$500)

  • The Nilotic Coddiwomple, Marial Awendit (South Sudan)

Marial Awendit said, “the 2023 African Writers Award for Poetry is dedicated to my father, Matueny Majak Malou. The book that is scheduled to be published as one of the entitlements for winning the award is dedicated to him. I got awarded on 4th November, 2023, on the same date he passed away, on 4th November, 2014. I hope you see how God communicates with people.”

Wakini Kuria Prize for Children’s Literature 2023 (US$450)

  1. Tato, Chantelle Chiwetalu (Nigeria)
  2. Thandi and the Hair Whisperer, Lindsay Katchika-Jere (Malawi)
  3. Meeme and the singing Calabash, Grace Tendo Katana (Uganda)

African Teen Writers Awards (Poetry) (US$100)

  1. This poem leads back home, Adedokun Ibrahim (Nigeria)
  2. Rhythm, Johanna Ataman (Nigeria)
  3. E-M(AI)L, Theresa Shukrani Mulindwa (Zambia)

African Teen Writers Awards (Prose) (US$100)

  • A Flipped Coin, Divine Okpe (Nigeria)
  • Alone, Oluwanifemi Fagbolagun (Nigeria)
  • Treasure in detention, Fayemi Iyinoluwa (Nigeria)


2 responses to “African Writers Awards 2023 winners announced.”

  1. David avatar

    Congratulations to all the winners!!🎉🎉🎉

    Where can we read their works?

    1. James Murua avatar
      James Murua

      The story has a link to the website making the announcement. You should find it on the first paragraph.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.