Afritondo Short Story Prize 2024 longlist

Afritondo Short Story Prize 2024 longlist announced.

The longlist for the Afritondo Short Story Prize 2024 was announced on Friday, February 23, 2024.

Afritondo, a platform that aims to connect with and tell the stories of African and black minority populations across the globe, is the organisation behind the Afritondo Short Story Prize. Previous winners have been Alex Kadiri, Howard Meh-Buh Maximus, Jarred Thompson, and Desta Haile.

To mark our fifth year, the 2024 prize will be judged by our first three winners: Jarred Thompson, Desta Haile, and Howard Meh-Buh Maximus. From a pool of 400 stories, this panel announced the following longlist;

  • Medium, Ema Babikwa (Uganda)
  • Thiero Island, Vayunamu Bawa (Nigeria)
  • The Beach House, Cynthia Kistasamy (South Africa)
  • Queen of the Radio, Joshua Lubwama (Uganda)
  • Your Name is your Covering, Sanni Omodolapo (Nigeria)
  • He Who Brings The Rain, Evalyne Muliwa (Kenya)
  • Longing, Mwĩhaki Mũragũri (Kenya)
  • reCAPTCHA, Hussani Abdulrahim (Nigeria)
  • Fading Mehndi, Sabah Carrim (Mauritius)
  • Minus, Khetani Michael Banda (Zimbabwe)
  • Again?, Jesutomisin Ipinmoye (Nigeria)
  • Demon of False Hope, B. T. Karuma (Zimbabwe)
  • Traveling Men Don’t Die, Charmaine Denison-George (Sierra Leone)
  • Of New Churches and Devils, Foday Mannah (Sierra Leone)
  • Countdown to Forever, Ufuoma Kwale (Nigeria)

Please read the profiles of the longlisted writers by clicking here. A shortlist and a winner will be announced in due course.

Please consider supporting the work we do at Writing Africa with a one-off donation or regularly on Mobile Money, PayPal, or Patreon. Click here for information on how to support our work.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.