Prix Médicis 2023 first selection announced

Prix Médicis 2023 first selection announced

Ananda Devi, Lisette Lombé, and Salma El Moumni are on the first selection for the Prix Médicis 2023 announced on Thursday, September 21, 2022.

The Prix Médicis was founded by Gala Barbisan and Jean-Pierre Giraudoux to recognise a novel, a story, a collection of short stories whose author begins or does not yet have a notoriety corresponding to their talent. The first edition was hosted in 1958 and since 1970, a foreign Prix Médicis, and since 1985, a Médicis essay prize, have been awarded on the same day. Some of the previous winners of the prize have been Dany Laferrière, Chloé Delaume, Orhan Pamuk, André Brink, and Emmanuèle Bernheim. Diaty Diallo and Leila Mottley were finalists in 2022.

The jury for 2023, chaired by Anne F. Garréta, is composed of Marianne Alphant, Michel Braudeau, Marie Darrieussecq, Dominique Fernandez, Patrick Grainville, Frédéric Mitterrand, Andreï Makine, Pascale Roze and Alain Veinstein. This team announced those in the first selections and the following writers of African descent made the cut:

French novels

  • Ananda Devi, Le jour des caméléons, Grasset
  • Salma El Moumni, Adieu Tanger, Grasset
  • Lisette Lombé, Eunice (Seuil)

A second selection is planned for October 18 before the announcement of the winner in Paris on November 9.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.