Angela Makholwa, Candice Carty-Williams on Comedy Women in Print Prize 2020 shortlist.

Angela Makholwa, Candice Carty-Williams on Comedy Women in Print Prize 2020 shortlist.

Angela Makholwa and Candice Carty-Williams are on the Comedy Women in Print Prize 2020 shortlist announced today, June 8, 2020.

The Comedy Women in Print Prize is an award that celebrates humorous novels written by women published in the UK and Ireland. It was founded by award-winning comedian, writer, and actor Helen Lederer, in response to the Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction the only prize for comedy in the UK for its “sexist imbalance” in 2019.  In the first year, the winners were Laura Steven (published) and Kirsty Eyre (unpublished).

The prize judging panel for 2020 is chaired by author Marian Keyes, alongside award-winning comedian Lolly Adefope, best-selling author Emma Kennedy, Irish author and actor Pauline McLynn, BAFTA-nominated actress and screenwriter Joanna Scanlan, and author, journalist and screenwriter Laura Steven.

Helen Lederer said, “judging and managing the prize in lock down was interesting – but we got there! The 2020 titles reflect a range of surprising heroines that made the judges laugh in different ways. From empowerment to dentistry and chip shops – it’s all here. In an unbelievably good year for witty writing by women we will also present an honorary Game Changer Award, to be unveiled when we announce our winners.”

The longlist was announced on April 20 and the shortlist revealed today. Those still in the running for the UK pounds 3,000 award are;

  • Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams (Hachette UK / Trapeze).
  • Big Girl, Small Town by Michelle Gallen (John Murray Publishers)
  • The Blessed Girl by Angela Makholwa (Bloomsbury Publishing)
  • The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary (Quercus)
  • Reasons to be Cheerful by Nina Stibbe (Penguin Random)
  • The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman (Headline Publishing Group)
  • Frankissstein by Jeanette Winterson (Jonathan Cape)

This shortlist includes Angela Makholwa for her newest novel The Blessed One. Also on the shortlist is Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams.

Reaction to the shortlist;

Angela Makholwa.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony in London, UK on September 14, 2020.



, , ,



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.