ArabLit Story Prize

ArabLit Story Prize 2020 shortlist unveiled.

The shortlist for the ArabLit Story Prize 2020 was announced on Tuesday, September 15, 2019.

The ArabLit Story Prize is an award celebrating the best short stories, in any genre, newly translated from Arabic into English. It was founded in 2018 by, a leading resource on Arab literature. Previous winners of the prize have been Egyptian writer Mohammad Abdelnabi and Robin Moger (2018) and Najwa Bin Shatwan and Sawad Hussain (2019).

The judging panel for the 2020 edition of the prize, announced on March 15, are Sawad Hussain, Hilal Chouman, and Donia Kamal. This panel announced the shortlist on Tuesday and they are;

  • With a Beard and Mustache, by Ahmed Abdulatif, translated by Sherehan Saad
  • Phantom of the Sands, by Maqbul al-Alawi, translated by Andrew Leber
  • As Per Job Description, by Belal Fadl, translated by Mahmoud Younes
  • Tunnels, by Hadiya Hussein, translated by Shakir Mustafa
  • The Defeat, by Zakaria Tamer, translated by Aidan Kaplan

All shortlisted stories will be published in the Winter 2020 issue of ArabLit Quarterly; the winning author and translator will split the $500 prize. You can learn more about the shortlisted writers and their translators by clicking here.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.