Awele Creative Trust Short Story Award 2023 longlist announced

Awele Creative Trust Short Story Award 2023 longlist announced

The longlist for the Awele Creative Trust Award 2023 was announced on Wednesday, February 7, 2024.

The Awele Creative Trust is a non-profit organisation created to provide an enabling environment and platform for creative young persons founded by Chika Unigwe. Its annual prize the Awele Creative Trust Award, valued at ₦50,000, rewards a short story of up to 5,000 words by a Nigerian writer aged between 16 and 26. Previous winners include Caleb Adebayo (2014), Nneoma Ike Njoku (2015), Caleb Somtochukwu Okereke and Anthony Ezekwoh (2016), Imade Iyamu (2017), and Bakporhe Ufuomaoghene (2019), Joshua Chizoma (2020), Mustafa Enesi (2021), and Akunna James-Ibe (2022).

The longlist for the award for the last year has been announced with the following in the running;

  • I’m Not Like Other Boys, Josiah Ikpe
  • For Things Like This Happen, Chizaram Divine Kpadobi
  • Body Art, Tiger Steps, Pamela Erhiakeme
  • The Girl Who Whirled With Shadows, Amanda Ilozumba
  • Not All Birds Fly, Joseph Jegede
  • The Weight of Duty, Olayinka Yaqub
  • The Mary Who Was Your Friend, Favour Ahuchaogu
  • A Eulogy For Happy Girls, Chidera Solomon Anikpe
  • Naked I Come, Roseline Mgbodichinma Okorie

The winner will be announced later in the year.

Please consider supporting the work we do at Writing Africa with a one-off donation or regularly on Mobile Money, PayPal, or Patreon. Click here for information on how to support our work.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.