Awele Creative Trust Short Story Award 2023 shortlist announced

Awele Creative Trust Short Story Award 2023 shortlist announced

The five person shortlist for the Awele Creative Trust Award 2023 was announced on Wednesday, March 20, 2024.

The Awele Creative Trust is a non-profit organisation created to provide an enabling environment and platform for creative young persons founded by Chika Unigwe. Its annual prize the Awele Creative Trust Award rewards a short story of up to 5,000 words by a Nigerian writer aged between 16 and 26. Previous winners include Caleb Adebayo (2014), Nneoma Ike Njoku (2015), Caleb Somtochukwu Okereke and Anthony Ezekwoh (2016), Imade Iyamu (2017), and Bakporhe Ufuomaoghene (2019), Joshua Chizoma (2020), Mustafa Enesi (2021), and Akunna James-Ibe (2022).

The longlist for the award was revealed on February 7 before the shortlist was announced on Wednesday. The jury said of the shortlisted stories, “Each story offered a unique perspective, as well as its own distinctive voice, in what is a testament to the richness of talent in Nigeria.”

The shortlisted stories are;

  • The Moulting, Chideraa Ike-Akaenyi
  • Body Art, Tiger Steps, Pamela Erhiakeme
  • The Weight of Duty, Olayinka Yaqub
  • The Mary Who Was Your Friend, Favour Ahuchaogu
  • A Eulogy For Happy Girls, Chidera Solomon Anikpe

All shortlisted writers will receive valued at ₦20,000; the winner who wins a ₦50,000 cash prize will be announced at a later date.



, ,




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.