Babishai Haiku Prize 2020 shortlist announced in Kampala.

The shortlist for the Babishai Haiku Prize 2020 was announced in Kampala, Uganda today, Friday, September 25, 2020.

The Babishai Haiku Prize organised by the Babishai Niwe Foundation, who also organise the Babishai Niwe Poetry Prize and the Babishai Niwe Poetry Festival, has been running since 2016. The first edition was jointly won by Blessmond Alebna Ayinbire (Ghana), Chibuihe-Light Obi (Nigeria), and Kwaku Feni Adow (Ghana). Kenyan writer Kariuki wa Nyamu won the prize in the following year.

After a brief hiatus, the 2020 iteration of the prize has returned and it is being judged by the 2017 winner Kariuki Wa Nyamu. The longlist of ten haiku writers was announced on June 14 with entries from five countries across the continent.

The shortlist was announced earlier and it have five haiku writers from four different African countries. Those in the shortlist are;

  • Ali Znaidi (Tunisia)
  • Andrew Herbert Omuna (Uganda)
  • Praise Osawaru (Nigeria)
  • Akello Charlotte (Uganda)
  • Adipo Sidang’ (Kenya)

Click here to read the haikus that were selected.

The winner will be announced later in the year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.