Bernardine Evaristo

Bernardine Evaristo on UK’s Women’s Prize for Literature 2020 longlist.

Bernardine Evaristo’s Girl, Woman, Other is on the longlist for the Women’s Prize for Literature 2020 announced on March 3, 2020.

The Women’s Prize for Fiction started in 1996, is one of the United Kingdom’s most prestigious literary prizes. It is awarded annually to a female author of any nationality for the best original full-length novel written in English and published in the United Kingdom in the preceding year. Previous winners of the prize include Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Zadie Smith and Ali Smith.

The longlist for this year’s edition of the prize has been announced today with Booker Prize winner Bernardine Evaristo making the cut. The full list of those in the running for the award are;

  • Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line by Deepa Anappara.
  • Fleishman is in Trouble by Taffy Brodesser-Akner.
  • Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams.
  • Dominicana by Angie Cruz.
  • Actress by Anne Enright.
  • Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo.
  • Nightingale Point by Luan Goldie.
  • A Thousand Ships by Natalie Haynes.
  • How We Disappeared by Jing-Jing Lee.
  • The Most Fun We Ever Had by Claire Lombardo.
  • The Mirror and the Light by Hilary Mantel.
  • Girl by Edna O’ Brien.
  • Hamnet by Maggie O’ Farrell.
  • Weather by Jenny Offill.
  • The Dutch House by Ann Patchett.
  • Red at the Bone by Jacqueline Woodson

Bernardine Evaristo was delighted with the listing stating on her Twitter; “So thrilled to make this year’s @WomensPrize longlist alongside such a variety of amazing authors. Mz Evaristo is feeling very blessed these days. #WomensPrize.”

The 16 books will be whittled down to a shortlist of 6 novels that will be announced on April 22; the 25th winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction will be announced on Wednesday June 3.


One response to “Bernardine Evaristo on UK’s Women’s Prize for Literature 2020 longlist.”

  1. […] The judging panel for 2020 has Martha Lane Fox as chair; writer and activist Scarlett Curtis; writer and activist Melanie Eusebe; co-founder of the Black British Business Awards, author, and comedian Viv Groskop; and international bestselling author Paula Hawkins. This panel announced the longlist for the award on March 3. […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.