Brooklyn Caribbean Literary Festival awards 2023 shortlists announced.

Brooklyn Caribbean Literary Festival awards 2023 shortlists announced.

The shortlists for the Brooklyn Caribbean Literary Festival’s literary awards were named on Monday, August 14, 2023.

The Brooklyn Caribbean Literary Festival (BCLF) is a celebration of culture as expressed through the pen of the storyteller and the voice of the poet founded in 2019. It is designed to facilitate vibrant conversations about Caribbean identity via a series of readings of classic and contemporary stories, podcasts, and conversations.

One of the festival’s most popular features is the writing competitions geared towards unearthing and encouraging the distinctive voice and story of the Caribbean-descended writer and expanding the creative writing landscape of Caribbean literature. The two are the BCLF Caribbean-American Writers’ Prize and BCLF Elizabeth Nunez Award for Writers in the Caribbean. Patrice Grell Yursik and Akhim Alexis won the awards in 2021 while Yveka Pierre and Alexia Tolas took the honours last year.

The longlists for the awards were announced on Monday, July 31 before the shortlists were named on Monday. Those who made the cut were;

BCLF Elizabeth Nunez Award for Writers in the Caribbean

Judges: Cherie Jones and Sharma Taylor

  • The Old Monsters, Judy Raymond (Trinidad & Tobago)
  • Sponger Money, Ethan Knowles (Bahamas)
  • Pebbles the Sane, Joey Bartlett (Trinidad & Tobago)
  • Immiscible, Rajiv Ramkhalawan (Trinidad & Tobago)
  • Jumbie Girl, Michelle John (Trinidad & Tobago)
  • The Ashes They Left Behind, Christina Katrina Smith (SVG)
  • White Noise, Jacinthe Howard (Barbados)
  • For Esme, Rayne Affonso (Trinidad & Tobago)

BCLF Caribbean-American Writer’s Prize

Judges: Merle Collins, Vanessa Riley and Fabienne Josaphat

  • Return to Sender, Shane McFarlane (Jamaica)
  • Jungle Siren, Jade Jilisa Leatham (Dominica)
  • Gambling Sweets, Caroline Johnson (Jamaica)
  • My Father, The Teacher, Jasmine Belfast (Trinidad & Tobago)
  • Common Ground, James Bernier, Jr. (USVI)
  • Miss Birdie and She Daughter, Kaiomi Inniss (Trinidad & Tobago)

The winners will be announced at the Brooklyn Caribbean Literary Festival in September.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.