Caine Prize for African Writing celebrates 20th anniversary with special anthology.

The Caine Prize for African Writing has released a special edition anthology, celebrating the literary talent of 20 excellent African short stories since its inception in 2000.

Awarded annually to the best short story written by an African writer, the Caine Prize has supported and rewarded outstanding contemporary African literature for 20 years. The new anthology offers the opportunity to reflect on, and celebrate, the achievements of 20 exceptional African writers and propel the Caine Prize into a prosperous future for the next 20 years.

From first winner Leila Aboulela’s moving story of love, ‘The Museum’, to the late Binyavanga Wainana’s ‘Discovering Home’, the stories from 20 years of the Caine Prize provide a unique experience of the continent’s literature.

In an ode to the short story, and to mark the publication of the anthology, Ben Okri OBE, Vice-President of the Caine Prize Council, said: “Whether it is the celebration, the marketplace, the bus stop, the ritual, the family, the funeral, comradeship, grisly death, sexual awakening, the short story catches the experience, holds it at an angle, illuminates it.”

Ellah Wakatama-Allfrey OBE, Chair of the Caine Prize, welcomed the publication: “It’s very exciting to be able to share an anthology which encompasses the wonderful literary contributions that have shaped the Prize over the past 20 years. We enter the twenty-first year of the Prize with excitement, and look forward to reading more electrifying literature from all over Africa in the years ahead.”

The past winners, whose stories comprise the anthology are: Leila Aboulela (Sudan) in 2000; Helon Habila (Nigeria) in 2001; Binyavanga Wainaina (Kenya) in 2002; Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor (Kenya) in 2003; Brian Chikwava (Zimbabwe) in 2004; Segun Afolabi (Nigeria) in 2005; Mary Watson (South Africa) in 2006; Monica Arac de Nyeko (Uganda) in 2007; Henrietta Rose-Innes (South Africa) in 2008; EC Osondu (Nigeria) in 2009; Olufemi Terry (Sierra Leone) in 2010; NoViolet Bulawayo (Zimbabwe) in 2011; Rotimi Babatunde (Nigeria) in 2012; Tope Folarin (Nigeria) in 2013; Okwiri Oduor (Kenya) in 2014; Namwali Serpell (Zambia) in 2015; Lidudumalingani (South Africa) in 2016; Bushra al-Fadil (Sudan) 2017; Makena Onjerika (Kenya), in 2018; and Lesley Nneka Arimah (Nigeria) in 2019.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.