Akwaeke Emezi

Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2018 open for entry on September 1

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2018 is open for your entries starting from September 1.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize born in 2012 is one of the more sought after prizes in African and world literature at the moment. This is because writers from 50 countries from five commonwealth regions of Africa, Asia, America, Canada and Europe Region, and Pacific are eligible to enter their work. The winner gets to showcase their work on the world stage with regional winners receiving £2,500 and the overall winner receiving £5,000.

You can see this handy video that tells you about the writing competition and its global reach below.

Previous winners of the prize were Jekwu Anyaegbuna (2012), Julian Jackson (2013), Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi (2014), Lesley Nneka Arimah (2015), Faraaz Mahomed (2016), and Akwaeke Emezi (2017). There has been only one African winner for the overall prize – Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi who won in her year.

The callout for the prize for 2018 kicks off on September 1, 2017. Writers who want to get their work to world want to check out the entry and eligibility rules are available to download here in word format and PDF. The short version is that you will be submitting your best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000–5,000 words) in English.

Good luck people.

Submissions have closed.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.