Dublin International Literary Award 2024 longlist announced.

Dublin International Literary Award 2024 longlist announced.

The longlist for the Dublin International Literary Award 2024 was announced on Tuesday, January 16, 2024. Here are the writers of African descent who made the list.

The Dublin International Literary Award is presented annually for a novel written in English or translated into English to promote excellence in world literature. The prize worth €100,000 is sponsored by the Dublin City Council, Ireland. If the winning book is a translation the prize is divided between the writer and the translator, with the writer receiving €75,000 and the translator €25,000. Writers of African descent like Percival Everett, David Diop and Akwaeke Emezi, Scholastique Mukasonga, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Mahi Binebine, and Aminatta Forna and Noviolet Bulawayo, Mia Couto, Chinelo Okparanta, and Yewande Omotoso have been in the running. Angolan author José Eduardo Agualusa won the award in 2017.

The jury for 2024, announced in November, is comprised of Professor Chris Morash (chair), Irenosen Okojie, Daniel Medin, Ingunn Snædal, Anton Hur, and Lucy Collins. The longlist for the award has been announced with 70 books nominated by 80 libraries from 35 countries.

Speaking at the launch, Patron of the Award, the Lord Mayor of Dublin Daithí de Róiste said, “This year’s longlist is an eclectic mix of world literature taking the reader on a journey through different cultures and traditions and highlights the importance of our shared literary imagination and the power of the written word.”

The following writers of African descent are on the longlist;

  • 1000 coils of fear, Olivia Wenzel
  • Ada’s Realm, Sharon Dodua Otoo
  • Chain-Gang All-Stars, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
  • Crooked Plow, Itamar Vieira Junior
  • If I Survive You, Jonathan Escoffery
  • Lone Women, Victor LaValle
  • I am Here, Chidi Ebere Now
  • The Drinker of Horizons, Mia Couto
  • The Eye of the Beholder, Margie Orford
  • When We Were Fireflies, Abubakar Adam Ibrahim

The shortlist will be announced Tuesday March 26 before the winner is made public at a ceremony on Thursday May 23.

Please consider supporting the work we do at Writing Africa with a one-off donation or regularly on Mobile Money, PayPal, or Patreon. Click here for information on how to support our work.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.