Grand Prix des Associations Littéraires 2019

Entries for Grand Prix des Associations Littéraires 2019 sought.

A call out for entries for Grand Prix des Associations Littéraires 2019 was made on Friday, September 27, 2019.

The Grand Prix des Associations Littéraires (Grand Prix of Literary Associations) were launched in Cameroon in 2013. The awards were then defined as bilingual English-and-French literary prizes awarded on the proposals of literary associations, especially in the Research and Belles-Lettres (beautiful letters according to Google translate) categories. Since 2015, the prize has been open to work written in other languages with a focus on African languages. They are run in partnership with Brasseries du Cameroun with sponsorship by Castel Beer.

Previous winners of this prize have been Magloire Ondoa for Textes et Documents du Cameroun (1815–2012) and Eric Mendi for Opération Obama in 2013 ; Hermine Kembo for Le système africain de protection des droits de l’homme and Charles Salé for La’afal. Ils ont dit in 2014; Jacques Fame Ndongo, for Essai sur la sémiotique d’une civilisation en mutation and Fiston Mwanza Mujila for Tram 83 in 2015; Felwine Sarr for Afrotopia and Eric Mendi for AFANE – Forêt Equatoriale in 2016; Ebénézer Billé and Georges Moukouti, for Hispanoamérica: visión contemporánea and Macaire Etty, for La geste de Bréké in 2017. The 2018 winners were among others Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o and Yasmina Khadra.

Apart from the prizes in these categories the organisers also hand out a few other awards on the day of the ceremony. They include a posthumous honour they call the Grand prix de la mémoire which has been won by Francis Bebey (2013), Tchicaya U Tam’Si (2014), Cheikh Anta Diop (2015), Sankie Maimo (2016), and William Edward Burghardt Du Bois, also known as W.E.B. Du BOIS (2017). Also on offer is the Grand Prix des Mécènes that has been awarded to Guillaume Oyônô Mbia (2014), Patrice Kayo (2015), Bernard Dadié (2016), Seydou Badian Kouyaté (2017), and Jean-Marc Ela (2018).

The organisers of the prize have made a callout for entries for the 2019 edition. They are looking for books written in French, English, Spanish, as well as in African languages. If you have any work that needs to be submitted please email

Your deadline is October 30, 2019.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.