Evaristo Prize for African Poetry 2024 shortlist announced.

Evaristo Prize for African Poetry 2024 shortlist announced.

The shortlist for the Evaristo Prize for African Poetry 2024 was announced on Monday, April 15, 2024.

The Brunel International African Poetry Prize, founded by Booker Prize winner Bernardine Evaristo, was started in 2012 to revitalise African poetry and encourage a new generation of poets to get an international platform. Previous winners have been Warsan Shire (2013), Liyou Libsekal (2014), Safia Elhillo and Nick Makoha (2015), Gbenga Adesina and Chekwube O. Danladi (2016), Romeo Oriogun (2017), Momtaza Mehri, Theresa Lola, and Hiwot Adilow (2018), Nadra Mabrouk and Jamila Osman (2019), Rabha Ashry (2020), and Othuke Umukoro (2021).  Gracia Mwamba and Feranmi Ariyo won the first edition of the renamed award in 2023.

The shortlist for 2024 with work by five poets from Across the continent was revealed on Monday. In the running are;

  • And God Said, Derek Ehiorobo
  • Self-portrait in utopia and other poems, Nkateko Masinga
  • Butterflies, Kyle Okeke
  • This Wake Holding, Mmiri, chisaraokwu
  • How to Live in Denial, Wale Ayinla


I am honoured and excited to be shortlisted for the 2024 Evaristo Prize for African Poetry, and in such amazing company! ❤️

Nkateko Masinga

An immense honor and to be in such great company!! Woohoo!!! 🥳💫🙌🏽


I did a thing!

Wale Ayinla

I’m a finalist 🙂

Kyle Okeke

The winner of the award, who will pocket the $1,500 cash prize, will be announced in May 2024.

Please consider supporting the work we do at Writing Africa with a one-off donation or regularly on Mobile Money, PayPal, or Patreon. Click here for information on how to support our work.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.