Gerald Kraak Prize

Gerald Kraak Prize 2019 shortlists announced.

The shortlists for the Gerald Kraak Prize 2019 were announced on April 3, 2019.

Gerald Kraak was a South African writer, grant-maker, film-maker, and human rights activist who passed on in 2014. He was most well known in the literary space for his book Ice in the Lungs (Jacana, 2005) which explores South African politics; he won the EU Book trophy for that work of art.

His former publisher Jacana alongside The Other Foundation came together and set up the Gerald Kraak Award and anthology in his honour. It focuses on the topics of gender, human rights and sexuality, for writers and photographers across Africa. Previous winners of the award include Farah Ahamed and Sarah Waiswa (2017) as well as Pwaangulongii Daoud (2018).

Jacana Literary Foundation (JLF), in partnership with The Other Foundation, has announced a 19-strong shortlist for the R25,000 Gerald Kraak Prize, selected from over 500 entries. The nominated works—a total of 23 pieces of fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction by the 19 writers—will appear in the third Gerald Kraak Anthology, titled The Heart of the Matter, forthcoming from Jacana Media in May 2019. Those in the shortlist are;


  • Obiageli by Prosper O. Anuforo (Nigeria).
  • The First of Their Kind by Lillian Akampurira Aujo (Uganda).
  • The Shape of Abnormal Things by Nonso Anyanwu (Nigeria).
  • Last Night in Asaba by Chiké Frankie Edozien (Nigeria).
  • A Sickness Called Longing by Chukwuebuka Ibeh (Nigeria).
  • Limbo by Innocent Chizaram Ilo (Nigeria).
  • The Impossibility of Home by Idza Luhumyo (Kenya).
  • The Passover by Caleb Okereke (Nigeria).
  • The Masked Dance by Nigel Mpemba Patel (Malawi).
  • Semen in the Sun by Jarred Thompson (South Africa).


  • Of Mothers and Men by OluTimehin Adegbeye (Nigeria).
  • Monstrous by Megan Ross (South Africa).
  • This Hell of a Body by Eugene Yakubu (Nigeria).


  • Playlist of the Least Loveable, by JK Anowe (Nigeria).
  • Father’s Lessons by Bamidele Iyanuoluwapo (Nigeria).
  • Verdwaal by Lynne Kloot (South Africa).
  • A List of Things I Do Not Tell My Mother by Sarah Lubala (Democratic Republic of Congo/South Africa).
  • On My Coming Out by Chisom Okafor (Nigeria).
  • City of Salts by Chisom Okafor (Nigeria).
  • Pride by Deborah Seddon.
  • My Sex Drive Is Self-reflective, Butchbottom and Condition by Jarred Thompson (South Africa).

Selecting a winner from this list of shortlistees is the judging panel of South African memoirist and activist Sisonke Msimang, Makerere University law professor and feminist thinker Sylvia Tamale, South African journalist and nonfiction writer Mark Gevisser, and Nigerian writer and literary journalist Otosirieze Obi-Young.

The overall winner, and commendations in each category, will be announced at an award ceremony in May 2019, hosted by The Other Foundation in Johannesburg.

Read more about those shortlisted here.


3 responses to “Gerald Kraak Prize 2019 shortlists announced.”

  1. […] prize organisers announced a 19-strong shortlist for the R25,000 Gerald Kraak Prize, selected from over 500 entries on April 3. These 23 pieces of fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction […]

  2. Brightwell Dube avatar

    I would like to submit an intriguing book on Gender Based Violence… Titled ‘Untangled”The Psychological Chains Of Human Abuse’

  3. […] The Daily Vox, Brittle Paper, Apogee Journal and Agbowó. She has been shortlisted twice for the Gerald Kraak Award, and once for The Brittle Paper Poetry Award, as well as longlisted for the Sol Plaatje EU Poetry […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.