Golden Baobab Prize 2018 judges Announced.

Golden Baobab Prize 2018 judges announced.

The Golden Baobab Prize 2018 judges were announced on November 15, 2018. They are Akoss Ofori-Mensah, Kathy Knowles, Daphne Lee, Sarah Odedina, Akua Peprah, and Carol Williams.

The Golden Baobab Prize is an award that celebrates outstanding African writers and illustrators of children’s literature. Established in 2008, it honours unpublished manuscripts and illustrations for children that reflect the diversity of life, experiences, and cultures across the African continent. Previous winners include Lori-Ann Preston and Vennessa Scholtz (2016) as well as Mary Ononokpono, Xanele Puren, and Portia Dery (2014).

The award organisers have today announced the jury for the 2018 Golden Baobab Prize, a panel comprising prominent international publishing and literacy professionals.

“We are excited to present a jury this year that boasts an international group of literary professionals who care about getting diverse books to children,” said Eunice Ahenkorah, Program Manager of Golden Baobab. “As the Golden Baobab Prize celebrates its 10th anniversary this year, we look forward to a new chapter where we will establish meaningful partnerships with various organizations to increase our capacity to have more African children’s books published by our authors and illustrators.”

The judges announced are;

  • Akoss Ofori-Mensah, Publisher, Sub-Saharan Publishers.
  • Kathy Knowles, Children’s writer, publisher and founder, Osu Library Fund.
  • Daphne Lee, Consulting Editor, Scholastic Asia.
  • Sarah Odedina, Editor-at-Large, Pushkin Press.
  • Akua Peprah, Educator, The Lovett School.
  • Carol Williams, West Africa Regional Director, Worldreader.

The winners of this year’s Golden Baobab Prize will be announced on December 15, 2018.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.