Grand Prix Littéraire d'Afrique Noire 2023 finalists announced.

Grand Prix Littéraire d’Afrique Noire 2023 finalists announced.

The finalists for Grand Prix Littéraire d’Afrique Noire 2023 were announced on Monday, February 19, 2024.

Grand Prix Littéraire d’Afrique Noire is a literary prize presented every year by the Association of French Language Writers (ADELF) for a text in French from Sub-Saharan Africa. Some of the winners of the prize first won by Aké Loba in 1961 have been Bernard Dadié, Ahmadou Kourouma, Lamine Diakhate, Aminata Sow Fall, Mariama Bâ, Amadou Hampâté Bâ, Alain Mabanckou, Patrice Nganang, Sami Tchak, Léonora Miano, Hemley Boum, Jean Pliya, Sory Camara, and Véronique Tadjo. After a five-year hiatus, Nétonon Noël Ndjékéry won the award last year.

The finalists announced on Monday are;

  • Polo kouman, Polo parle, Henri Michel Yéré (éd. En-bas)
  • La reine aux yeux de lune, Wilfried N’Sondé (éd. Robert Laffont)
  • Parole de perroquet, Vincent L. Kalimasi (éd. Miezi)
  • La mise en papa, Dieudonné Niangouna (éd. L’oeil d’or)
  • Souviens-toi de ne pas mourir sans avoir aimé, Marc Alexandre Oho Bambe (éd. Calmann-Lévy)
  • Le psychanalyste de Brazzaville, Dibakana Mankessi (éd. Les lettres mouchetées).

The winner will be awarded on March 16 during the 3rd edition of the African Book Fair to be held in Paris, France from March 15 to 17.

Now that you are here, please consider supporting the work we do at Writing Africa with a one-off donation or regularly on Mobile Money, PayPal, or Patreon. Click here for information on how to support our work.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.