Hurston/Wright Foundation Legacy Awards 2023 winners announced

Hurston/Wright Foundation Legacy Awards 2023 winners announced

The winners of the Hurston/Wright Foundation 2023 Legacy Awards were announced in Washington D.C., USA on Thursday, October 26, 2023.

The Hurston/Wright Foundation is named for US African-American literary icons Zora Neale Hurston and Richard Wright. The Hurston/Wright Legacy Award honours the best in Black literature in the United States and around the globe. The Legacy Award was the first national award in the USA presented to Black writers by a national organization of Black writers since 2001. Fiction, nonfiction and poetry honourees are selected in a juried competition. Some of the previous winners include Alain Mabanckou, Colson Whitehead, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Chris Abani, Aminatta Forna, Kwame Dawes, and Uwem Akpan.

The nominees for this year’s awards were announced on Wednesday, June 28 before the winners were revealed on Thursday. The winners were;

Debut Fiction

Judges: Amina Gautier, Ron A. Austin and Preston Allen

  • A Down Home Meal for These Difficult Times: Stories, Meron Hadero (Restless Books)

Speculative Fiction

Judge: B. Sharise Moore

  • Our Lady of Mysterious Ailments, T.L. Huchu (Macmillan)

General Fiction

Judges: Morgan Christie, Lauren Francis-Sharma and Kim McLarin

  • Didn’t Nobody Give a Shit About Carlotta, James Hannaham (Little Brown)

Historical Nonfiction

Judges: Gerald Horne and Ron Stodghill

  • By Hands Now Known, Margaret Burnham (W.W. Norton & Company)

Memoir Nonfiction

Judges: Laurie Jean Carter and Sheri Booker

  • Inciting Joy, Ross Gay (Algonquin Books)


Judges: Asiya Wadud, Brian Gilmore and Chanda Feldman

  • Concentrate, Courtney Faye Taylor, (Graywolf Press)

The lifetime achievement honourees are;

The North Star Award: Ishmael Reed  

The Ella Baker Award: Carol Anderson

Madam “CJ” Walker Award: Troy Johnson


Really happy “Our Lady of Mysterious Ailments” has notched a Hurston/Wright Legacy Award.

T.L. Huchu

I’m honored and incredibly grateful to receive the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award for Debut Fiction! My thanks to the judges & @HurstonWright, and congrats to this year’s recipients and nominees!

Meron Hadero


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.