Irenosen Okojie’s “Nudibranch”

Irenosen Okojie’s “Nudibranch” out on November 7.

Irenosen Okojie’s newest short story collection Nudibranch makes its debut out on November 7, 2019.

Irenosen Okojie’s writing has featured in The New York Times, The Observer, The Guardian, the BBC, and The Huffington Post amongst other publications. Her debut novel, Butterfly Fish (2015), published by Jacaranda Books won a Betty Trask Award and was shortlisted for the Edinburgh First Book Award. Her short story collection, Speak Gigantular (2016) was shortlisted for the Edgehill Short Story Prize, the Jhalak Prize, the Saboteur Awards and nominated for a Shirley Jackson Award.

The Nigerian’s newest book, published by Little, Brown Book, is Nudibranch a short story collection set to be published on November 7, 2019. The new book’s blurb goes thus;

In this collection of short stories, offbeat characters are caught up in extraordinary situations that test the boundaries of reality . . .

A love-hungry goddess of the sea arrives on an island inhabited by eunuchs.

A girl from Martinique moonlights as a Grace Jones impersonator.

Dimension-hopping monks sworn to silence must face a bloody reckoning.

And a homeless man goes right back, to the very beginning, through a gap in time.

Nudibranch is a dark and seductive foray into the surreal.

The book which is considered by the Guardian as a “must read book of 2019’ comes with high praise. Diana Evans calls it ‘Unique and imaginative’ while Bernardine Evaristo says, ‘Irenosen Okojie delves into the painful, the unsayable, the unknowable.’

For more information about this new book please click here.



, ,



One response to “Irenosen Okojie’s “Nudibranch” out on November 7.”

  1. […] first edited anthology Black Tax: Burden or Ubuntu?, Irenosen Okojie’s short story collection Nudibranch, Gerry Sikazwe’s poetry collection Words That Matter, Siphiwo Mahala’s short story collection […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.