James Currey Prize for African Literature

James Currey Prize for Literature shortlist announced.

There are five writers on the shortlist for the James Currey Prize for Literature announced today, July 1, 2021.

The James Currey Prize for African Literature is an annual award for the best-unpublished work of fiction written in English by any writer, set in Africa or on Africans in Africa or in Diaspora. It was established in 2020 by Nigerian writer, filmmaker and publisher of Hattus Books, Onyeka Nwelue, in honour of James Currey, the leading publisher of academic books on Africa – dedicated to distributing books about Africa in Africa. The winner receives £1000.

Jury members include Canada-based Nigerian publisher, Bibi Ukonu; Dr. Pinkie Megkwe (Botswana), Barbara Adair (South Africa), Kennedy Ekezie-Joseph (Nigeria), Arun Jay (India), and Miko Yamanouchi (Japan).

The longlist for the award was announced on June 6 before the shortlist was revealed today, Those who are still in the running for the prize money are;

  • And Then He Sang A Lullaby by Ani Kayode Somtochukwu
  • The Rage of Lambs by Solomon Kobina Aremu
  • The Masses on Ashes by Okwudiri Job
  • Bones and Runes by Stephen Embleton
  • A Reign of Terror by Ntando Gerald

The winner of the prize will be announced in a prize ceremony scheduled in the UK on September 3.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.