Lambda Literary Awards

Lambda Awards 2024 winners announced.

The winners of the Lambda Awards 2024 were announced in New York, USA on Tuesday, June 11, 2024. These are the writers of African descent who won.

The Lambda Literary Awards, or the “Lammys,” as they are known, are an award of Lambda Literary, the oldest and largest literary arts organization advancing Lesbian, Gay, Trans, and Queer (LGBTQ) literature in the United States. Previous winners include Chike Frankie Edozien, Nicole Dennis-Benn, Kacen Callender, Aricka Foreman, and Chinelo Okparanta. Mia McKenzie, Brontez Purnell, Aisha Sabatini Sloan, Da’Shaun Harrison, and John Keene were some of the winners on 2022.

The finalists for 2024 were announced on March 27 before the winners were revealed on Tuesday evening. The winning writers of African descent are;

Randall Kenan Prize for Black LGBTQ Fiction

  • Liv Little

Jim Duggins, PhD Outstanding Mid-Career Novelist Prize

  • Dr. Zelda Lockhart

Gay Fiction

  • Family Meal, Bryan Washington (Penguin Random House/Riverhead Books)

Transgender Nonfiction

  • Miss Major Speaks: Conversations with a Black Trans Revolutionary, Toshio Meronek and Miss Major (Verso)

Gay Poetry

  • Trace Evidence, Charif Shanahan (Tin House)

Transgender Poetry

  • Hood Vacations, Michal ‘MJ’ Jones Black Lawrence Press

LGBTQ+ Drama

  • Fat Ham, James Ijames TCG/Samuel French, a Concord Theatricals Company)

Watch the whole event below;

Please support our work at Writing Africa with a one-off donation on Mobile Money or PayPal or regularly on Patreon starting at US$3 a month by clicking here.



, , , ,




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.