Dayo Forster

Morland Writing Scholarship 2016 Shortlist announced

The Miles Morland Foundation has announced the shortlist for the 2016 Morland Writing Scholarships. Of the twenty-two names, eleven are from Nigeria, four from South Africa, two each from Somalia and Kenya, and one each from Gambia, Ghana, and Zimbabwe.

Miles Morland said, “The standard of the shortlist is always high but this year we had an even greater depth of talent than before, making the choosing of a shortlist particularly difficult.  We had over 500 entries, up from 385 last year and they came from 37 countries, compared with 27 last year. We have three Caine Prize winners on it, and a number of writers who have received global recognition. We are pleased also to have writers early in their career who show terrific promise. We have been blown away by the talent, imagination, energy, and humour that characterises African writing. Our only disappointment is that, although we had a number of non-fiction submissions, only one made it to the short list. We are actively trying to encourage non-fiction, Africans telling Africa’s story.”

The judges, with Ellah Wakatama Allfrey from Zimbabwe in the chair, assisted by Femi Terry from Sierra Leone, and Muthoni Garland from Kenya, will meet on Dec 12th to select the five 2016 Scholars. Their names will be announced shortly afterwards. The Scholars will each receive £18,000, paid over the course of a year, to allow them to take time off to write the book they have proposed.

The Shortlist for the Morland Writing Scholarships for 2016

  • Abdul Adan – Somalia
  • Jekwu Anyaegbuna – Nigeria
  • Ayesha Harruna Attah – Ghana
  • Rotimi Babatunde – Nigeria
  • Dayo Forster – Gambia
  • Amy Heydenrych – S Africa
  • Abubakar Ibrahim – Nigeria
  • Nneoma Ike-Njoku – Nigeria
  • Julie Iromuanya – Nigeria
  • Hamse Ismail – Somalia
  • William Ifeanyi Moore – Nigeria
  • Lidudumalingani Mqombothi – S Africa
  • Nick Mulgrew – S Africa
  • Otosirieze Obi-Young – Nigeria
  • Okwiri Oduor – Kenya
  • Adeola Opeyemi – Nigeria
  • Olawale Olayemi – Nigeria
  • Troy Onyango – Kenya
  • Mary Ononokpono – Nigeria
  • Koye Oyedeji – Nigeria
  • Bryony Rheam – Zimbabwe
  • Sandisile Tshuma – Zimbabwe


One response to “Morland Writing Scholarship 2016 Shortlist announced”

  1. […] Those in the running for the prize have now emerged with a longlist of nineteen from across the African country from the over 100 stories from all over the continent that were sent in. It features a few names that readers of this blog may have heard of. The prominent these is Mary Ononokpono who won the Golden Baobab Prize 2014. She was also longlisted for the Short Story Day Africa Prize 2016 and shortlisted the Mile Morland Scholarship 2016. […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.