Morland Writing Scholarships 2023

Morland Writing Scholarships 2023 shortlists announced.

The shortlists for the Morland Writing Scholarships 2023 were announced on Thursday, October 12, 2023.

The Morland Writing Scholarships for African Writers, popularly referred to as the Morland Writing Scholarship, is an opportunity to allow writers to finish a manuscript. Scholars writing fiction receive a grant of £18,000, paid monthly over twelve months while those writing non-fiction may receive a grant of up to £27,000, paid over a period of up to eighteen months. In the past, the scholarship has been accorded to writers like Yewande Omotoso, Noo Saro-Wiwa, Ayesha Harruna Attah, Gloria Mwaniga Odari, Hawa Jande Golakai, Nnamdi Oguike, and Parsalelo ole Kantai. Muhammad L. Kejera (Gambia), Neema Komba (Tanzania), Chido Muchemwa (Zimbabwe), Chika Oduah (Nigeria), and Lanre Otaiku (Nigeria) were the recipients in 2022.

This year the award received nearly 600 entries from published writers from across Africa. They have announced a shortlist of nineteen based on the “combined scores of our readers with each submission being read and graded independently by two people. The only criterion is literary merit. Our judges have a difficult task selecting just four winners from such a talented group. They will also consider book proposals when deciding. This year’s are an eclectic and intriguing collection with both fiction and non-fiction books in the mix.”

The shortlist features the following writers;

  • Deborah Adeniyi (Nigeria)
  • Rafeeat Aliyu (Nigeria)
  • Jekwu Anyaegbuna (Nigeria)
  • Justin Clement (Nigeria)
  • Mary-Alice Daniel (Nigeria)
  • Eromo Egbejule (Nigeria)
  • Mubanga Kalimamukwento (Zambia)
  • Ayesha Kassiem (South Africa)
  • Kiprop Kimutai (Kenya)
  • Wesley Macheso (Malawi)
  • Priya Nirmala Hein (Mauritius)
  • Remy Ngamije (Rwanda/Namibia)
  • Lindiwe Nkutha (South Africa)
  • Masande Ntshanga (South Africa)
  • Tolu Ogunlesi (Nigeria)
  • Kanyinsola Olorunnisola (Nigeria)
  • Temitope Owolabi (Nigeria)
  • Joe Ruzvidzo (Zimbabwe)
  • Obinna Udenwe (Nigeria)

The jury will meet on November 16 and deliberate on the winners who will be announced on November 17.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.