Nicole Dennis Benn

Nicole Dennis-Benn on PEN/Faulkner Award 2020 longlist

Nicole Dennis-Benn’s Patsy is on the PEN/Faulkner Award 2020 longlist announced on February 7, 2020.

The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is a US prize that honours the best-published works of fiction by American citizens in a calendar year. Three writers are chosen annually by the directors of the PEN/Faulkner Foundation to serve as judges for the prize, and these judges are asked to select five books as finalists for the award, making this the largest peer-juried award in the country. Both the eventual winner of the award and all finalists are invited to Washington, DC for the PEN/Faulkner Award Ceremony and Dinner.

To honour the 40th anniversary of the award, today the judges are releasing a longlist of “the 10 most significant books published in 2019.” They are;

  • The Bird King, by G. Willow Wilson.
  • The Night Swimmers, by Peter Rock.
  • On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous, by Ocean Vuong.
  • Patsy, by Nicole Dennis-Benn.
  • A People’s History of Heaven, by Mathangi Subramanian.
  • Sea Monsters, by Chloe Aridjis.
  • Sing to It: New Stories, by Amy Hempel.
  • The Topeka School, by Ben Lerner.
  • We Cast a Shadow, by Maurice Carlos Ruffin.
  • Where Reasons End, by Yiyun Li.

The winner will be announced on May 4, 2020.



, ,




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.