Nnedi Okorafor

Nnedi Okorafor gets two nominations at Hugo Awards 2019 finalists.

The Hugo Awards 2019 finalists were announced on April 2, 2019. Of the many categories listed, Nnedi Okorafor features in two different ones.

The Hugo Awards are given annually for the best science fiction or fantasy works and achievements of the previous year. The awards are named after Hugo Gernsback, the founder of the pioneering science fiction magazine Amazing Stories, and were officially named the Science Fiction Achievement Awards until 1992. Organized and overseen by the World Science Fiction Society, the awards are given each year at the annual World Science Fiction Convention as the central focus of the event.

The awards have announced those in the running for literary glory this year in the different categories. They are Best Novel, Best Novella, Best Novelette, Best Short Story, Best Related Work, Best Graphic Story, Best Dramatic Presentation – Long Form, Best Dramatic Presentation – Short Form, Best Professional Editor – Short Form, Best Professional Editor – Long Form, Best Professional Artist, Best Semiprozine, Best Fanzine, Best Fancast, Best Fan Writer, Best Fan Artist, and Best Series. They also have awards associated with the Hugo and these are John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer and The World Science Fiction Society (WSFS) Award for Best Young Adult Book.

One name we noted on the lists is Nnedi Okorafor who has featured as a finalist and winner in the last few years. This year Okorafor is there in the Best Novella Category for Binti: The Night Masquerade and the Best Graphic Story Category for her work on Marvel Comic’s Black Panther: Long Live the King.

Below is where the author features alongside other finalists in her category.

Best Novella

  • Artificial Condition, by Martha Wells (Tor.com Publishing)
  • Beneath the Sugar Sky, by Seanan McGuire (Tor.com Publishing)
  • Binti: The Night Masquerade, by Nnedi Okorafor (Tor.com Publishing)
  • The Black God’s Drums, by P. Djèlí Clark (Tor.com Publishing)
  • Gods, Monsters, and the Lucky Peach, by Kelly Robson (Tor.com Publishing)
  • The Tea Master and the Detective, by Aliette de Bodard (Subterranean Press / JABberwocky Literary Agency)

Best Graphic Story

  • Abbott, written by Saladin Ahmed, art by Sami Kivelä, colours by Jason Wordie, letters by Jim Campbell (BOOM! Studios)
  • Black Panther: Long Live the King, written by Nnedi Okorafor and Aaron Covington, art by André Lima Araújo, Mario Del Pennino and Tana Ford (Marvel)
  • Monstress, Volume 3: Haven, written by Marjorie Liu, art by Sana Takeda (Image Comics)
  • On a Sunbeam, by Tillie Walden (First Second)
  • Paper Girls, Volume 4, written by Brian K. Vaughan, art by Cliff Chiang, colours by Matt Wilson, letters by Jared K. Fletcher (Image Comics)
  • Saga, Volume 9, written by Brian K. Vaughan, art by Fiona Staples (Image Comics)

The winners will be announced in mid-August.

Update: The winners were announced last night August 19, 2019. In the categories Nnedi featured, Best Novella was won by Martha Wells while Best Graphic Story was won by Sana Takeda.



, ,



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.