Novuyo Rose Tshuma

Novuyo Tshuma, Percy Zvomuya and Kiprop Kimutai make Artists In Residency shortlist

The Africa Centre announced its nominees for several residencies for many African artists for the Artists In Residency program. In literature, they have nominated Zimbabweans Novuyo Tshuma, Percy Zvomuya and Joyce Jenje Makwenda as well as Egyptian Amira Hanafi, Kenyan Kiprop Kimutai and South African Zinaid Meeran.

The Africa Centre is an organisation whose core role is to manage the Artists In Residency which allows African artists to take part in some of the most prestigious residencies around. The residencies that this program allows artists to take part in include in Bundanon Trust (Australia); Fountainhead (USA); Instituto Sacatar (Brazil); JIWAR Creation & Society (Spain); Khoj International Artists’ Association (India); & Handshake 302 in China, our newest residency partner.

The centre announced the twenty six artists in literature, performing arts and music, visual arts, film, and, curatorial practice who are in the running for the residencies. They were selected from hundreds of applications from across twenty countries on the continent.

We are a literature focused blog therefore we are focused on those who are in the running for that genre. Those in the running are Novuyo Tshuma, Percy Zvomuya, Joyce Jenje Makwenda, Amira Hanafi, Kiprop Kimutai and, Zinaid Meeran.  These are all well known name in their own right with Zvomuya for instance as a Miles Morland Scholar and Kimutai as a Kwani Manuscript Prize shortlistee.

We were also pleased to see Qudus Onikeku in the performing arts & music; he has thrilled audiences at festivals like at the Ake Festival.

The full list of nominees is;


  • Novuyo Tshuma – Zimbabwe
  • Percy Zvomuya -Zimbabwe
  • Amira Hanafi- Egypt
  • Joyce Jenje Makwenda – Zimbabwe
  • Kiprop Kimutai – Kenya
  • Zinaid Meeran – South Africa

Visual Arts:

  • Abe Gillian Stacey – Uganda
  • Barbara Wildenboer – South Africa
  • Chibuike Uzoma – Nigeria
  • Danielle Myburg – South Africa
  • James Webb – South Africa
  • Keli Maksud -Kenya
  • Gladys Kalichini – Zambia
  • Hassan Essop – South Africa
  • Mina Nasr – Egypt
  • Mongezi Ncaphayi -South Africa
  • Sethembile Msezane – South Africa
  • Temitayo Ogunbiyi – Nigeria

Performing Arts & Music

  • Cara Stacey – South Africa
  • Catherine Nakawesa – Uganda
  • Gideon Mbothwe – South Africa
  • Jacob Sakaria – Namibia
  • Qudus Onikeku – Nigeria


  • Beza Lemma – Ethiopia
  • Bolatito Aderemi Ibitola – Nigeria

Curatorial Practice:

  • Nazneen Saldulker – South Africa

The list of artists shortlisted for residencies at the Rockefeller Foundation Bellagio Center will be announced in January 2017.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.