Pemi Aguda Wins Writivism Short Story Prize 2015

Nigeria writer Pemi Aguda is the winner of the Writivism Short Story 2015 for her story, Caterer, Caterer. The writer was announced at a ceremony at the National Theatre in Kampala on Sunday evening.

The evening, which was emceed by Writivism board member and recently announced Etisalat judge Zukiswa Wanner, had a series of activities before the big announcement. They included a song by singer Afri, a young woman with an angelic voice on the keyboard whose track was called Askari. She was followed by a series of others. Filmmaker and author Tsitsi Dangarembga read a story from an upcoming anthology from Zimbabwean women writers. Also on stage was poet Chijioke Amu-nnadi who read a moving poem. There were also two amazing poems by Peter Kagayi.

Rachel Zadok represented the panel of judges chaired by Chika Unigwe and comprising Mukoma wa Ngugi, Tendai Huchu, Ainehi Edoro that selected the shortlist on stage. She explained the very thorough process that was done to ensure that there was the best writing at the later stages.

Then came the final part of it all, the prize-giving and the shortlistees were asked to come on stage. Mathilda Roberts who works with the Miles Morland Foundation was given the task announcing the winner. The runner up was Adeola Opeyemi but the winner of the day was Pemi Aguda for her story Caterer, Caterer.

Okwiri Oduor, Pemi Aguda and Ndinda Kioko
Okwiri Oduor, Pemi Aguda and Ndinda Kioko

Cue the mad celebrations and a speech by Pemi Aguda who thanked everyone. After this, there were made celebrations with winners of other prizes like Miles Morland Scholar Ndinda Kioko and Caine Prize winner 2014 Okwiri Oduor joining the newest must-know African writer.

See y’all, next year folks.


6 responses to “Pemi Aguda Wins Writivism Short Story Prize 2015”

  1. […] evening ended with the big announcement of the winner of the Writivism Short Story Prize 2015 with song, poetry, speeches and […]

  2. […] emerging African writers. Previous winners of the prize are include Acan Innocent (Uganda) in 2016, Pemi Aguda (Nigeria) in 2015, Saaleha Idrees Bamjee (South Africa) in 2014, and Anthea Paelo (Uganda) in […]

  3. […] its shortlistees. Previous winners of the prize include Ugandan Acan Innocent in 2016, Nigerian Pemi Aguda in 2015 (Nigeria), 2014: South African Saaleha Idrees Bamjee in 2014, and Ugandan Anthea Paelo in […]

  4. Writivism Short Story Prize 2019 and Koffi Addo Creative Nonfiction Prize 2019 Announced – Nthanda Review

    […] Previous winners have been Mbogo Ireri (2018), Munachim Amah (2017), Acan Innocent (2016), Pemi Aguda (2015), Saaleha Idrees Bamjee (2014), and Anthea Paelo […]

  5. […] Aguda first came to be known around the continent after winning the Writivism Short Story Award in 2015 and the Stellenbosch residency that came with the prize. She has an MFA from the Helen Zell […]

  6. […] The Writivism Short Story Prize is an annual award for emerging African writers administered by the Center for African Cultural Excellence (CACE). The prize which was started in 2015 by was won by Pemi Aguda. […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.