Prix de la Littérature Arabe 2019

Prix de la Littérature Arabe 2019 longlist features African writers.

Leïla Bahsaïn, Kaouther Adimi, Mohammed Abdelnabi, and Yasmine Khlat are the African writers on the Prix de la Littérature Arabe 2019 longlist announced on September 3, 2019.

The Prix de la Littérature Arabe, created in 2013 by the Jean-Luc Lagardère Foundation and the Institut Du Monde Arabe, is awarded to a writer, a national of a member country of the Arab League and author of a published book – novel, collection of short stories or poems – written in French or translated from Arabic into French.

It is the only French award distinguishing Arab literary creation with the winner endowed 10,000 euros. Previous winners have been Jabbour Douaihy (2013), Mohammed al-Fakharany (2014), Mohammed Hasan Alwan (2015), Inaam Kachachi (2016), Sinan Antoon (2017), and Omar Robert Hamilton (2018).

Those in the running for this year’s award, with the African writers in bold, are;

  • Spider’s House (translated from Arabic by Gilles Gauthier) of Mohammed Abdeinabi (Actes Sud)
  • Petits de December by Kaouther Adimi’s (Éditions du Seuil)
  • Ougarit by Camille Ammoun (The uneducated editions)
  • Heaven under our feet by Leila Bahsain (Albin Michel)
  • Egypt 51 by Yasmine Khlat (Elyzad)
  • Port-au-Prince Round trip by Georgia Makhlouf (La Cheminante)
  • Those who are afraid (translated by François Zabbal) of Dima Wannous (Gallimard)

You can read more about the longlist from our friends at who prompted this blog.


One response to “Prix de la Littérature Arabe 2019 longlist features African writers.”

  1. […] finalists for the award were announced on September 3 with four African writers in the running for the big prize. The jury chaired by Pierre Leroy, co-manager of Lagardère SCA, unanimously elected the text […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.