Prix Ethiophile 2020 finalists announced.

Prix Ethiophile 2020 finalists announced.

Beata Umubyeyi Mairesse, Johary Ravaloson, Abdourahman A. Wabéri, and Dalie Farah are the finalists for the Prix Ethiophile 2020 announced on June 24, 2020.

Prix Ethiophile is an annual literary prize founded in 2015 which rewards French-speaking, African or Caribbean texts. The price alternates between the novel, poetry, theater, and essay genres. Previous winners of the award have been Gauz (2019), Véronique Kanor (2018), Guy-Alexandre Sounda (2017), Makenzy Orcel (2016), and Ronald C. Paul (2015).

The finalists are chosen by a team chaired by Pierre Brunel, University professor, Paris-Sorbonne, member of the Academy of Moral and Political Sciences. He is joined by other members including Marie-José Hourantier, Frédéric Almaviva, Florence de Rougemont, Jean-Marie Kouakou, Hemley Boum, Colette Scherer, Jean Derive, and Jean-François La Bouverie. The honorary member of the prize this year is Maryse Condé the writer and winner of the alternative Nobel Prize winner for literature in 2018.

The finalists for 2020, announced on June 24, are;

  • Amour, Patrie et Soupe de crabe by Johary Ravaloson published by Dodo Vole
  • Tous tes Enfants Dispersé by Beata Umubyeyi Mairesse published by Métailié editions
  • Pourquoi tu Danses Quand tu marches? by Abdourahman A. Wabéri published by Lattès editions
  • Impasse Verlaine by Dalie Farah published by Grasset

The winner who goes home with a cash prize of €2,000 will be announced in October.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.