Prix Ethiophile 2024 shortlist announced.

Prix Ethiophile 2024 shortlist announced.

The shortlist for Prix Ethiophile 2024 were announced in Paris, France on Sunday, April 14, 2024.

Prix Ethiophile is an annual literary prize founded in 2015 that rewards French-speaking, African, or Caribbean texts. The prize worth €1,000 alternates between the novel, poetry, theatre, and essay genres. Previous winners of the award have been Valérie Cadignan, Beata Umubyeyi Mairesse, Gauz, Véronique Kanor, Marc-Alexandre Oho Bambé, Makenzy Orcel, and Ronald C. Paul.

The jury for 2024 has President Pierre Brunel, member of the Academy of Moral and Political Sciences, University Professor, Paris-Sorbonne and Marie-José Hourantier, Africanist, anthropologist, university professor, École Normale Supérieure d’Abidjan, coordinator of the prize in Abidjan who takes the role of vice-president. Other members from a variety of professions from actor, lecturer, poets, and translators are Valérie Faranton, Florence de Rougemont, Frédéric Almaviva, Anne-Lise Blanchard, Jean Derive, Christiane Fioupou, Alexandre Poussin, Béatrice N’Guessan Larroux. Maryse Condé was an honorary member.

This year the focus on the novel and those on the shortlist are;

  • Philippe Pango, L’Enfant vaudou, L’Harmattan
  • Nadia Chonville, Mon Coeur bat vite, Mémoire d’Encrier
  • Khalid Lyamlahy, Évocation d’un Mémorial à Venise, Présence Africaine
  • Sami Tchak, Mélodie pour une Douleur, Éditions Continents
  • Kohndo, Plus haut que la Tour Eiffel, JC Lattès

The winner will be awarded at a ceremony in Paris later in the year.

Please consider supporting the work we do at Writing Africa with a one-off donation or regularly on Mobile Money, PayPal, or Patreon. Click here for information on how to support our work.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.