Prix Ivoire for African Literature 2023 finalists announced.

Prix Ivoire for African Literature 2023 finalists announced.

The finalists for Prix Ivoire for African Literature in Francophone Expression 2023, Cote D’Ivoire’s leading literary prize, were announced in Abidjan on August 17, 2023.

The Prix Ivoire for African Literature in Francophone Expression or simply Prix Ivoire is a literary award created by Akwaba Culture, an Ivorian law association in 2008. Open to writers from Africa and its Diasporas, the winner gets a two million CFA francs (about 3,000 euros) cash prize, a trophy, and attends the Geneva Book Fair. It is sponsored by the Côte d’Ivoire Ministry of Culture, Francophonie the International Organization of La Francophonie, the French Embassy in Abidjan, and the Librairie de France Group of Ivory Coast.

Previous winners of the Prix Ivoire have been Sami Tchak (2022), Blaise Ndala (2021), Isabelle Rochet (2019), Gauz (Armand), Côte d’Ivoire (2018), Johary Ravaloson (Madagascar) (2017), Marijosé Alie (Martinique) (2016), Kettly Mars (Haïti) (2015), Bahaa Trabelsi (Maroc) (2014), Hemley Boum (Cameroun) (2013), Mariama N’doye (Sénégal) (2012), Frédéric Grah Mel (Côte d’Ivoire) (2011), Elisabeth Ewombè-Moundo (Cameroun) (2010), Tiburce Koffi (Côte d’Ivoire) (2009), and Racine Kane (Sénégal) (2008).

For 2023, the reading committee comprises literary critics Michel Koffi (president), Florence Apo, Serge Grah, Koffi Koffi, and Henri N’koumo. From the Fifty-six works from fourteen countries that have been registered for the 2023 edition the committee has selected the following finalists;

  • L’Amante religieuse, Nadia Essalmi (Morocco), éditions La croisée des chemins, nouvelles, 2022
  • Où vont les ombres quand la nuit vient, Alain Gordon-Gentil (Ile Maurice), éditions Hervé Chopin, 2023
  • Une somme humaine, Makenzy Orcel (Haïti), éditions Rivages, 2022
  • Notre royaume n’est pas de ce monde, Jennifer Richard (Guadeloupe), éditions Albin Michel, 2022
  • Terre des sans-patrie, Mahmoud Soumare (Côte d’Ivoire), éditions Les Classiques Ivoiriens, 2023
  • Mano de l’autre bord, Antoinette Tidjani Alou (Jamaica/Niger), éditions Project’îles, 2023

These finalists will now be whittled down by a final jury chaired by writer and playwright Werewere-Liking (Noma Prize 2005) and a winner announced in Abidjan on Saturday, November 25.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.