Prix Renaudot 2023 first selection announced

Prix Renaudot 2023 first selection announced

Gaëlle Bélem, Eric Chacour, Nathacha Appanah, and Elgas are on the first selection for Prix Renaudot 2023 announced on Thursday, September 7, 2023.

Prix Renaudot is a French literary prize awarded to the author of an outstanding original novel published during the previous year. It was created in 1926 by ten art critics awaiting the results of deliberation of the jury of the Prix Goncourt. It was named for Théophraste Renaudot, who founded La Gazette (later La Gazette de France), an influential weekly newspaper. Some of its winners have been Michel del Castillo, Édouard Glissant, Michel Butor, Jean Cayrol, Louis Aragon, Louis-Ferdinand Céline, and Marcel Aymé.

The judging panel for 2023 comprises Dominique Bona, Franz-Olivier Giesbert, Georges-Olivier Châteaureynaud, Jean-Noël Pancrazi, Patrick Besson, Frédéric Beigbeder, Cécile Guilbert and Stéphanie Janicot. This jury announced the first selection of books in the running in prose (novels) and nonfiction (essays). The following writers of African descent made the cut;


  • Gaëlle Bélem, Le fruit Le Plus Rare, Gallimard
  • Eric Chacour, Ce Que Je Sais de Toi, Philippe Rey


  • Nathacha Appanah, La Mémoire Lavée, Mercure de France
  • Elgas, Les Bons Ressentiments, Riveneuve

The next selections will be revealed on October 5 and 26 before the final announcement in Paris on November 7, 2023.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.