Quramo Writers’ Prize 2019

Quramo Writers Prize 2019 finalists announced in Lagos.

The finalists for the Quramo Writers Prize 2019 have been announced today November 18, 2019, in Lagos.

The Quramo Writers’ Prize is an award celebrating unpublished writers who are working every day to hone their craft and record the continent’s original stories. Founded in 2017 by Quramo Publishers, it aims to encourage and stimulate a new community of talented writers, providing an opportunity for otherwise unexposed talent to achieve publishing recognition and encouragement. Previous winners have been Samuel Monye (2017) and Michael Emmanuel (2018).

In May the prize, to be judged by Toni Kan, Molara Wood, and A. Igoni Barrett, sought entries from writers from across Africa, the first time the prize made a continental callout.

Today the finalists were revealed with a statement from Toni Kan, head of the 3-member jury for the Quramo Writers Prize 2019 stating, “we received over 400 entries this year. The manuscripts bear testament to a ferment in the Nigerian and African literary landscape. We are convinced that there is a large pool of young literary talent in the country and on the continent, who will ensure that our literature remains alive and vibrant for years to come. My co-judges, Molara Wood and A. Igoni Barrett, are glad to present a shortlist of 15 manuscripts of varying lengths.”

The fifteen finalists are;

  • Oyedeji Emmanuel Toluwani – Up Nepa
  • Jaiyeola Temitayo Tomiwa – I’ll be Fine
  • Golbador Joseph – Let Me Paint You a Picture
  • Amaranjo Chigozie – Nigerian Dream
  • Osuizugbe Adaeze Maureen – This Thing Called Marriage
  • Oni Oluwaseyi Faith – 30 Days To Seventeen
  • Owoyemi Olorunfemi Akinade – The Familiar Jungle Called Life
  • Udochukwu, Everest C. – The Shades of a thing Ugly
  • Oluwaseyi Adebola – A Cluster of Petals (short stories)
  • Obinna Tony-Francis Ochem – Deep Ocean
  • Wawira Thatiah – Guilty
  • Joan Ikem Cynthia Chinenyenwa – Twenty Sixty-One
  • Ikechukwu Nwaogu – The Book of Lost Words
  • Vivian Onyekachi Ibe – What Dreams are Made of
  • Cynthia Nnadi Nnenna- Red Grasses and Forbidden Quests.

Commenting on the shortlist, Quramo Writers Prize founder and Executive Publisher at Quramo Publishing, Mrs. Gbemi Shasore said, “it is always exciting to read and review new writings, and discover new authors. This is the gift and challenge of promoting the Quramo Writers’ Prize. We are absolutely thrilled with the overwhelming response and quality of submissions this year, a wide variety of talent not just from Nigeria, but from other African countries. I am excited as we count down to crowning a new winner who will go home with N1m and a possibility of having their manuscript published by Quramo Publishing.”

The prize will be awarded on Sunday, December 15, 2019, at the grand finale of the 3-day Quramo Festival of Words (QFest) which will feature workshops, panel discussions, documentary screenings, open mic sessions, and more.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.