R.S.A Garcia

R.S.A Garcia is a Nebula Awards 2024 winner

R.S.A Garcia won in the short story category at the Nebula Awards 2024 in Pasadena, USA on Sunday, June 9, 2024.

The Nebula Awards, recognising the best works of science fiction or fantasy published in the United States, were first held in 1966. They are organized and awarded by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, a non-profit association of professional science fiction and fantasy writers annually. Some winners of the awards in the past are Octavia E. Butler, Nnedi Okorafor, Tomi Adeyemi and P. Djèlí Clark. P. Djèlí Clark and Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki won in 2022 while C.L. Polk and K. Tempest Bradford won in their categories in 2023.

For 2024, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Association announced the finalists for the Nebula Awards in several categories on Thursday, March 14. The winners were then revealed at the Nebula Conference 2024 in Pasadena on June 9 with one writer of African descent winning in their category;

Nebula Award for Short Story

  • “Tantie Merle and the Farmhand 4200, R.S.A Garcia (Uncanny 7-8/23)

R.S.A Garcia tweeted after her win, “I published my first short (unpaid) in 2001. I spent the next 20+ years looking for rep. My Indie debut was 2014. I kept writing, shorts mostly. In 2023, an editor pulled my book from slush & the offer got me an agent. My book comes out Oct & I just won the Nebula. Never give up.”

Please support our work at Writing Africa with a one-off donation or regularly on Mobile Money, PayPal, or Patreon starting at US$3 a month by clicking here.



, ,



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.