Samira Bawumia Literature Prize

Samira Bawumia Literature Prize 2020 winners announced.

The winners of the Samira Bawumia Literature Prize 2020 have been announced today, July 22, 2020.

The Samira Bawumia Literature Prize is an annual literary award for the best short fiction, poetry and non-fiction prose by young Ghanaians living in Ghana. Named after Samira Bawumia, the second lady of Ghana, the prize in fiction, nonfiction, and poetry is open to Ghanaians living in Ghana, aged between 15 and 25.

The longlists and shortlists for the 2020 edition were announced earlier in July before the winners in the different categories have been revealed today. The reward for these winners in each of the categories is First place – GHC 5,000 & a Laptop; Second Place Prize: GHC 3,000; and Third Place Prize: GHC 2,000. The announcement was made by Samira Bawumia in a video you can check out below;

The winners are;


  1. Anthony Morrison Kwavah
  2. Karen Donkor
  3. Joel Afful


  1. Jerry Agbenu
  2. Benjamin Arthur
  3. Henneh Kyereh


  1. Maurice Djojo Adjetey
  2. Grace Mensah-Fosu
  3. Lawrence Neequaye

Now that you are here please consider supporting this project to archive African and Black Literature by donating whatever you can using Patreon or on Mobile Money



, , , ,




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.