Panashe Chigumadzi

South African Literary Awards 2016 shortlists announced

Panashe Chigumadzi
Panashe Chigumadzi

The writers in the running for the 2016 South African Literary Awards 2016 were announced on 7th October 2016.

The South African Literary Awards which are celebrating 11 years as an organisation announced those in the running for what is considered to be the most prestigious award ceremony going. The awards were founded by the wRite associates, in partnership with the national Department of Arts and Culture (DAC) in 2005 to pay tribute to South African writers who have distinguished themselves as producers and creators of literature. It would go on to celebrate literary excellence in the depiction and sharing of South Africa’s histories, value systems and philosophies and art as inscribed and preserved in all the languages of South Africa, particularly the official languages. Previous SALA winners include Nadine Gordimer, Lewis Nkosi, Sindiwe Magona, Njabulo Ndebele, Karabo Kgoleng, Zakes Mda,  Sifiso Mzobe and Zukiswa Wanner.

This year, the awards committee has shortlisted eighteen (18) authors from a total of one hundred and thirty-two (132) submissions received for 2016. The winners will be announced at a glittering awards ceremony on the 7th November at UNISA. The awards ceremony will be preceded by the 5th Africa Century International African Writers Conference, also taking place at UNISA on the same day.

FoundedWith eleven successful years of existence, eleven categories and 147 authors honoured, the SA Literary Awards have become the most prestigious and respected literary accolades in the South African literary landscape. SALA prides itself in not only acknowledging established authors but as a platform to budding writers through the First-time Published Author Award category.

We congratulate the 2016 nominees for their sterling work and keeping South Africa’s literary heritage alive.

The writers in the running for awards are;

Posthumous Literary Award

TT Cloete

Chris van Wyk

Poetry Award

Gilbert Gibson – Vry

Athol Williams – Bumper Cars

Arja Salafranca – Beyond Touch

Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award

Danie Marais – Pruimtwak &Skaduboksers

Sandra Hill – Unsettled and Other Stories

Literary Translators Award

Leon de Kock & Karin Schimke – Flame in the Snow: The Love Letters of Andre Brink & Ingrid Jonker

Zirk van den Berg – Halfpad Een Ding

Kirby van der Merwe – N Huis Vir Ester

Lifetime Achievement Literary Award

Ingrid Winterbach

Prof Johan Lenake

K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award

Willem Anker – Buys

Tshifhiwa Given Mukwevho – The Violent Gesture Of Life

Panashe Chigumadzi – Sweet Medicine

First-time Published Author Award

Francois Smith – Kamphoer

Ferial Haffajee  – What If There Were No Whites In South Africa


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.