Cyril Lincoln Nyembezi's family receives his posthumous award on his behalf

South African Literary Awards 2019 winners announced in Johannesburg.

The winners of the South African Literary Awards 2019 have been announced in Johannesburg this evening, November 7, 2019.

The South African Literary Awards, popularly referred to as the SALAs, have honoured many authors since they were founded in 2005. The winning writers and poets have included Es’kia Mphahlele, Nadine Gordimer, Miriam Tlali, Lauretta Ngcobo, Keorapetse Willie Kgositsile, Wally Mongane Serote, Sindiwe Magona, Zakes Mda, Panashe Chigumadzi, Zukiswa Wanner, Sihle Khumalo, Nuruddin Farah, Yewande Omotoso, Sifiso Mzobe, Sabata Mpho Mokae, and Phillippa Yaa de Villiers.

The 2019 awards, organised annually by the wRite associates in partnership with the Department of Arts and Culture, kicked off with a callout for entries in March. On Friday, October 4, the team announced the shortlists for the awards in the categories of children’s literature, youth literature, poetry, translation, novels, and more for 2019.

This evening they announced the winners of the coveted awards. The list of winners includes;

  • Children’s Literature Award: Lebohang Masango, Mpumi’s Magic Beads
  • Youth Literature Award: Sally Partridge, Mine
  • First-time Published Author Award: Bongani Ngqulunga, The Man Who Founded The ANC
  • Poetry Award Author (joint winners)
    – Ayanda Billie, Umhlaba Umanzi
    – Tony Ullyatt, An Unobtrusive Voice
  • K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award: Chase Rhys, Kinnes
  • Novel Award Author (joint winners):

– Sabata-Mpho Mokae, Moletlo Wa Manong,
– Charl-Pierre Naude, Die Ongelooflike Onskuld van Dirkie Verweyz

  • Nadine Gordimer Short-Story Award: Niq Mhlongo, Soweto Under The Apricot Tree
  • Creative Non-Fiction Literary Award: Johnson Jansen, As By Fire
  • Literary Translator: Michiel Heyns, Original: Buys Translation: Red Dog. Afrikaans to English
  • Literary Journalism Award (Joint winners):
    Jennifer Malec, Body of work
    – Wamuwi Mbao, Body of work
  • Lifetime Achievement Award (joint winners):
    – Cornelius Tennyson Daniel (CTD) Marivate , Body of work
    – Louis Smit, Body of work
  • Posthumous Literary Award: Cyril Lincoln Nyembezi
  • Chairperson’s Award: Lindiwe Mabuza, Body of work

The winners receive a trophy, a certificate, and a cash prize.

Here are some images from the award ceremony courtesy of the official Twitter account of the awards at @Sala_Awards

Lindwe Mabuza
Lindiwe Mabuza

Lebohang Masango

Lebohang Masango (left)

Ayanda Billie
Ayanda Billie (left)
Bongani Ngqulunga
Bongani Ngqulunga (right)
Jennifer Malec and Wamuwi Mbao
Jennifer Malec and Wamuwi Mbao
Cyril Lincoln Nyembezi's family receives his posthumous award on his behalf
Cyril Lincoln Nyembezi’s family receives his posthumous award on his behalf
Outwile Tsipane for Niq Mhlongo
Outwile Tsipane (left) for Niq Mhlongo
Michiel Heyns
Michiel Heyns (left)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.