Tade Thompson

Tade Thompson on UK’s Arthur C. Clarke Award 2019 shortlist.

Tade Thompson is on the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2019 shortlist announced for his novel Rosewater.

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain for a book first published in the United Kingdom. Previous winners of the award, established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke, have been Margaret Atwood, Geoff Ryman, and Ian R. MacLeod. The only African winner so far has been Lauren Beukes in 2011 for her book Zoo City with Nnedi Okorafor making the shortlist in 2016.

The shortlist for this year’s award has been announced with six books making the cut from the 124 books submitted.

Arthur C. Clarke Award Director Tom Hunter said of the shortlist, “Our 6 shortlisted titles were selected from a record-breaking 124 eligible submissions, and as the imaginative breadth of SF publishing in the UK has grown so too has the challenge for our judges. With this shortlist they have successfully melded multiple definitions of the genre into a celebratory whole that both upholds the best traditions of science fiction literature and beckons us towards exhilarating new futures.”

The six books shortlisted for the 33rd Arthur C. Clarke Award for science fiction literature are:

  • Semiosis — Sue Burke (HarperVoyager).
  • Revenant Gun — Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris).
  • Frankenstein in Baghdad — Ahmed Saadawi (Oneworld).
  • The Electric State — Simon Stålenhag (Simon and Schuster).
  • Rosewater — Tade Thompson (Orbit).
  • The Loosening Skin — Aliya Whiteley (Unsung Stories).

The winner will be announced at a public award ceremony with a cheque for £2019.00 and the award itself, a commemorative engraved bookend in London, UK, on Wednesday, July 17, 2019.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.