Tiya Miles, Safiya Sinclair on Women's Prize for Non-Fiction 2024 longlist

Tiya Miles, Safiya Sinclair on UK’s Women’s Prize for Non-Fiction 2024 longlist

Tiya Miles and Safiya Sinclair are on the longlist for the UK’s Women’s Prize for Non-Fiction 2024 announced on Thursday, February 15, 2024.

The Women’s Prize founded in 1996 is one of the most prestigious literary prizes in the United Kingdom. It is awarded annually to a female author of any nationality for the best original full-length novel written in English and published in the United Kingdom in the preceding year. Previous winners include Zadie Smith, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and Ali Smith.

For 2024, the initiative expanded with a new nonfiction award judged by a panel chaired by historian and broadcaster Professor Suzannah Lipscomb announced on October 25, 2023. She is joined by fair fashion campaigner Venetia La Manna; academic, author, and consultant Professor Nicola Rollock; biographer and journalist Anne Sebba; and author and 2018 winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction Kamila Shamsie.

The panel has announced the longlist today with Prof Lipscomb saying. “Our selection represents the breadth of women’s non-fiction writing: science, history, memoir, technology, literary biography, health, linguistics, investigative journalism, art history, activism, travel-writing and economics. And each author has created a masterpiece that is worthy of your attention. Buy them, borrow them, above all read them, and in so doing you’ll be elevating women’s voices and female perspectives in a whole range of disciplines and on a whole host of topics.”

The writers of African descent on the list are;

  • All That She Carried, Tiya Miles
  • How to Say Babylon, Safiya Sinclair

Safiya Sinclair reacted with the tweet, “I’m absolutely thrilled to see that HOW TO SAY BABYLON has been longlisted for the @WomensPrize in Nonfiction! What an honour to be included here with so many writers I love and admire. 🌺”

Watch the announcement in full here;

The shortlist will be announced on March 27 before the winner is made public at a ceremony on June 13, 2024.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.