NGC Bocas Lit Fest 2024

Trinidad and Tobago’s NGC Bocas Lit Fest 2024 for April.

The NGC Bocas Lit Fest 2024, Trinidad and Tobago’s leading literary festival, runs in Port of Spain from April 25 – 28, 2024.

The NGC Bocas Lit Fest is a literary festival that takes place annually during the last weekend of April in the Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago. Inaugurated in 2011, it is the first major literary festival in the southern Caribbean and the largest literary festival in the Anglophone Caribbean. The festival title sponsor is the National Gas Company of Trinidad and Tobago (NGC). Other sponsors and partners include First Citizens Bank, the British Council, One Caribbean Media (OCM), who sponsor the associated OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature, and the Commonwealth Foundation.

For 2024, those in the Caribbean Island nation can expect a thrilling lineup of readings, panel discussions, performances, and more. The winners of the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature and the Bocas Henry Swanzy Award will also be revealed.

The scheduled guests come from the host country of Trinidad as well as Canada, Jamaica, Kenya, USA, St Lucia, Barbados, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincente, The Grenadines, Brazil, Bahamas, India, and the United Kingdom. The list is one of the most comprehensive in the recent past and includes Aaron Kamugisha, Aimée Felone, Akilah White, Alake Pilgrim, Amílcar Sanata, Angela Wachuka, Angelique V. Nixon, Anslem Douglas, Anthony Joseph, Anu Lakhan, Ardene Sirjoo, Arielle John, Barbara Lalla, Black Sage, Brandon O’Brien, Breanne McIvor, Bridget Brereton, Bruno Dorigatti, Camille Hernández-Ramdwar, Canisia Lubrin, Carol Mitchell, Caroline Mackenzie, Celeste Mohammed, Chinua Alleyne, Christina Sharpe, Christine Salandy, Claudius Fergus, D. Alissa Trotz, Danielle Fraser, Derron Sandy, Desiree Seebaran, Dion Michael Diaz, Dionne Brand, Dixie-Ann Belle, Edward Bowen, Edwidge Danticat, Elise Dillsworth, Elisha Efua Bartels, Elizabeth Walcott-Hackshaw, Hadassah K. Williams, Hazel Lynch, Heather Barker, Helen Johnson, Ingrid Persaud, Ira Mathur, Irenosen Okojie, Janine Mendes-Franco, Jayron Remy, Jessica Gopaul, Joel Frederick, Jolanda Charles, Judy Raymond, June Aming, Franka Philip, Gabrielle Hosein, Geetanjali Shree, H. Nigel Thomas, Kafi Kareem, Kalea Harris, Karen Lord, Kayo Chingonyi, Kemoni and Keiani Newton, Kenneth Ramchand, Kernella Berment, Kevin Jared Hosein, Khaffi Beckles, Lisa-Marie Foster, Marchelle Farrell, Marina Salandy-Brown, Mary Cuffy, Michael A. Bucknor, Michael Mooleedhar, Mikayla Burton, Myriam J.A. Chancy, Nailah Blackman, Natalie Fiawoo, Nicole Sealey, Paula Morgan, Paula Obé Thomas, Premee Mohamed, R.S.A. Garcia, Rabindranath Maharaj, Rhea Manley, Robert Young, Roydon Salick, Ruth Osman, Safiya Sinclair, Shehnaz Mohammed, Sherwin Rackal, Shinade Martin, Shinie Antony, Shivanee Ramlochan, Soraya Palmer, Stephanie Koathes, Stuart W. Ramon-Fortuné, Sylvia Rose-Ann Walker, Teresa White, Tracy Assing, True Nicks, Vaneisa Baksh, Yansie Rolston, and Zachary Ransome.

For a full list of activities and guests, please visit the official Bocas Lit Fest page.

Please consider supporting the work we do at Writing Africa with a one-off donation or regularly on Mobile Money, PayPal, or Patreon. Click here for information on how to support our work.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.