World Fantasy Awards

World Fantasy Awards 2023 finalists announced.

The finalists for the World Fantasy Awards 2023 were announced on Tuesday, July 25, 2023. Here are the writers of African descent in the running.

The World Fantasy Awards have been awarded annually for the best fantasy fiction published during the previous calendar year since 1975. It is organised and overseen by the World Fantasy Convention. Kacen Callender, Rivers Solomon, Nisi Shawl, Ebony Elizabeth Thomas, and Sheree Renée Thomas were finalists in 2020. Alaya Dawn Johnson, Tochi Onyebuchi, and Celeste Rita Baker won in 2021 while Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki won in his category in 2022.

This jury for 2023 comprises Dale Bailey, Kelly Robson, Ginny Smith, A.C. Wise, and Ian Whates. The finalists were announced on Tuesday with the following writers of African descent in the running;

Best Novel

  • The Ballad of Perilous Graves, Alex Jennings (Redhook; Orbit UK)

Best Novella

  • Even Though I Knew the End, C.L. Polk (Tordotcom)

Best Short Fiction

  • The Devil Don’t Come with Horns, Eugen Bacon (Other Terrors: An Inclusive Anthology)
  • Incident at Bear Creek Lodge, Tananarive Due (Other Terrors: An Inclusive Anthology)

Best Anthology

  • Africa Risen: A New Era of Speculative Fiction, Sheree Renée Thomas, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki, Zelda Knight, eds. (Tordotcom)


Best way to find out the acest news from your blockbuster literary agent @JennieGoloboy : “And congratulations on the World Fantasy Award nomination!” “The Devil Don’t Come With Horns” in @HorrorWriters OTHER TERRORS. Congrats to all finalists! 🙏🏿💞

Eugen Bacon

Uhhhhh, I just learned that The Ballad of Perilous Graves has been nominated for the World Fantasy Award. Holy shit. Kansas City, here I come! And congratulations to all the other nominees. If I win, I promise to wear it around my neck like Nerd Flavor Flav.

Alex Jennings

OMG y’all I’ve been publishing for a long time, but I don’t often get nominated for big genre awards. This is so thrilling!!! And Other Terrors is such a great anthology — you should check it out! Congrats to all of the nominees! I can’t even find a link to post yet! #horror

Tananarive Due

Ohmygawd! Africa Risen AND Trouble the Waters are both Finalists for the 2023 World Fantasy Award in the anthology category. Bof’of’em! What a day! 🙌🏾😭😭🙏🏾 CONGRATS to @Penprince_ @AuthorZKnight @panmorigan @TroyLWiggins & 65 brilliant writers 😍🌍🌊

Sheree Renée Thomas

The awards will be presented during the 2023 World Fantasy Convention in Kansas City, USA from October 26-29, 2023.



, , ,



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.