Yejide Kilanko

Yejide Kilanko on Canada’s Guernica Prize for Literary Fiction 2019 shortlist.

Yejide Kilanko is on the shortlist for the Guernica Prize for Literary Fiction 2019 announced on September 3, 2019.

The Guernica Prize for Literary Fiction, started in 2018, seeks the best literary fiction novel that pushes the boundaries. The winning writer gets a publishing contract with Guernica Editions as well as a cash prize of $1000. The first winner was Kevin Wilson for his novel An Idea About My Dead Uncle.

The process for the 2019 edition of the prize kicked off earlier in the year with April 30 being the deadline for entry. The longlist was announced on August 6 with Nigerian novelist Yejide Kilanko making the cut.

The shortlist for the prize was announced yesterday and those still in the running are;

Guernica Prize for Literary Fiction 2019 shortlist

  • A Twitch In the Bones by Renee M Sgroi.
  • At Half-Light by Linda Walsh.
  • Moldable Women by Yejide Kilanko.
  • This Cleaving and This Burning by Andrew Wainwright.
  • Zulaikha by Lily Soltani.

Yejide Kilanko is not a new name to readers of this blog with her Etisalat Prize longlisted Daughters Who Walk This Path as well as the sophomore offering Chasing Butterflies.

The winner of the prize will be announced at a ceremony on September 29, 2019.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.