Zimbabwe National Arts Merit Awards 2024 winners announced.

The winners of Zimbabwe’s National Arts Merit Awards 2024 were announced at a ceremony in Bulawayo on Saturday, February 24, 2024.  

The National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA Awards) is a set of awards granted by the National Arts Council of Zimbabwe in recognition of outstanding achievements in the arts and culture annually. The categories have differed over the years. The winners in the literary categories in 2023 were David Chasumba, Costa Chayambuka, Siphiwe Gloria Ndlovu, and Samantha R. Vazhure.

The finalists for the 2024 edition were announced by the chairperson of the adjudicator’s committee Hope Masike on Friday, February 9. The winners were made public at a colourful event in Bulawayo with the following winning in the literary categories;

First Creative Published Work

  • The Train House on Lobengula Street, Fatima Kara

Outstanding Children’s Book

  • The Haunted Pumpkin, Mai Sarungano Folktales

Outstanding Fiction Book

  • UKhethiwe, Zibusiso Mabonisa

Outstanding Poetry Book

  • Shamhu Yezera Renyu, Memory Chirere

Outstanding Poet

  • Ngonidzashe Paradza aka Mambo Guramatunhu

You can see images from the events on Saturday at the official Zimbabwe’s National Arts Merit Awards Facebook page.

Please consider supporting the work we do at Writing Africa with a one-off donation or regularly on Mobile Money, PayPal, or Patreon. Click here for information on how to support our work.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.